News & Multimedia

Fisher, Blaha Team Up To Win Indy Legends Pro-Am at Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational

The fastest woman in Indianapolis 500 history added another entry Saturday to her list of accomplishments at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway – race winner.

Sarah Fisher and amateur teammate Kirk Blaha combined to win the Indy Legends Charity Pro-Am race Saturday, June 17, the featured event of the Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational. It was Fisher’s first start in the Sportscar Vintage Racing Association (SVRA) event.

Nine-time Indianapolis 500 starter Fisher and Blaha won the race by a lap in their No. 3 1969 Chevrolet Corvette convertible over the runner-up team of two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Al Unser Jr. and amateur partner Peter Klutt.

“I had a great time,” said Fisher, who still holds the fastest official lap by a woman at Indianapolis, 229.675 mph in qualifying in 2002. “This is my first year, so I’m quite a rookie. But the Blaha family made me feel right at home. We’re all here to have some fun, race some great cars and have a great time.”

Indy 500 veteran Max Papis and amateur teammate Curt Vogt finished third overall and won the B division of the race in their No. 23 1970 Ford Boss 302.

“It’s an honor to share the car with Curt,” Papis said. “Thanks to all the race fans for showing up and supporting the sport. Without you, we cannot do it.”

2002 Brickyard 400 winner Bill Elliott and his teammate, fellow NASCAR Hall of Fame member Ray Evernham, finished fourth overall and third in the A division in the No. 9 1970 Ford Boss 302. The podium finished provided redemption for Evernham and Elliott, whose car broke after just three laps in their debut last year in this event.

“It’s fun for us, but it’s great for the fans,” Elliott said. “The fans are the ones who supported us throughout all the years. It’s fun to get out and run with Ray and kind of kick back, just look at things a little different, and especially run with a lot of legends that I grew up watching when I was a kid.”

Five-time Indianapolis 500 starter Johnny Unser placed second in the B division, driving the No. 7 1967 Chevrolet Camaro SS with amateur partner Shannon Ivey. Indianapolis 500 veteran Mark Dismore, from nearby Greenfield, Indiana, finished third in the B division with amateur partner Scott Hackenson in their No. 317 1967 Ford Mustang.

The quickest driver in the field sadly didn’t see the checkered flag. Willy T. Ribbs, the first African-American driver to race in the Indianapolis 500, was left stranded on course late in the race due to a mechanical problem after turning the top lap of the race, 1 minute, 37.668 seconds, in the No. 36 1969 Chevrolet Corvette.

Points leader Ernie Francis Jr. won the TA class and overall race honors in the Trans Am presented by Pirelli event in his No. 98 Breathless Pro Racing/Beta Tools Ford Mustang. Francis won the 42-lap race by 35.424 seconds over runner-up David Pintaric in the No. 57 Kryderacing Cadillac CTS-V.

Mark Boden won the TA3 class race in the No. 46 Fall Line Motorsports/Calypso Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car. Brian Kleeman won the TA4 class from the pole in the No. 07 DWW Motorsports Inc. Ford Mustang.

Trans Am TA2 class competitors will race at 3:30 p.m. Sunday. The race is 42 laps or 75 minutes, whichever comes first. TA2 class points leader Gar Robinson will start from the pole after an intense, late-afternoon shower forced the cancellation of qualifying.

In the second of two Battery Tender Global MX-5 Cup races this weekend, Patrick Gallagher turned the tables on rookie Robert Stout with a victory by 2.0053 seconds. Stout edged Gallagher in the first race Friday by .0632 of a second.

Racing will take place in all 12 SVRA vintage car groups all day Sunday, and vintage motorcycle racing also will be held. Other attractions include the Hagerty Insurance “shine and show” car corral, a “Celebration of Vintage Motorcycles” with vintage motorcycle displays and an oval exhibition featuring a race car show of judged competition for the A.J. Watson and Sir Jack Brabham trophies, led by IMS historian Donald Davidson.

Visit to order tickets or learn more about the Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational. Ticket prices are $20 Sunday. Kids 15 and under are free when accompanied by an adult.

Show More Show Less
Now Viewing
Sarah Fisher
Fisher, Blaha Team Up To Win Indy Legends Pro-Am at Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational
Sarah Fisher and amateur teammate Kirk Blaha combined to win the Indy Legends Charity Pro-Am race Saturday, June 17, the featured event of the Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational. It was Fisher’s first start in the Sportscar Vintage Racing Association (SVRA) event.
Read More
Related Media
Great New Items Added To IMS Auctions To Benefit Haiti Relief
Exciting new items continue to be added to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway eBay auctions to benefit American Red Cross relief efforts in Haiti, as the motorsports world shows its care and concern for the victims of the devastating earthquake Jan. 12. New signed memorabilia (above) includes a Ryan Briscoe Team Penske nosecone, Kurt Busch Miller Lite Dodge sheet metal and a Randy Owens Red Bull Indianapolis GP poster.
Read More
IMS Contributing $10,000 To Red Cross Relief Efforts In Haiti
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is contributing $10,000 to the American Red Cross to assist its relief efforts for Haitian earthquake victims. Motorsports fans also can contribute to the American Red Cross in many ways, including a continuing online auction at the IMS eBay site and a Brickyard Authentics retail store price reduction. Among the new items added to the auction is a VIP ticket package to the 2010 Indianapolis 500.
Read More
American Motorsports Media Name Franchitti Driver Of The Year
Dario Franchitti received more recognition for his 2009 IZOD IndyCar Series championship Jan. 16 by being named the recipient of the Jerry Titus Award during the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association's All-America Team dinner in Brownsburg, Ind. The Titus award, given in remembrance of the late racer/journalist, signifies the top vote-getter among All-America Team members as the driver of the year. Franchitti also won the award following his 2007 series championship and Indianapolis 500 victory.
Read More
IMS Teaming With American Red Cross For Haitian Earthquake Relief
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is teaming with the American Red Cross through an online auction and Brickyard Authentics retail store price reduction to encourage race fans to contribute to relief efforts for Haitian earthquake victims. Autographed items are being auctioned on eBay, and anyone who donates $5 or more to the Red Cross at the two Brickyard Authentics retail outlets will receive a 20 percent savings on their purchase.
Read More
Indy Winner Castroneves Makes Room For Third 'Baby Borg' Trophy
Reigning Indianapolis 500 champion Helio Castroneves (above right) accepted his third BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy - affectionately known as the "Baby Borg" - from BorgWarner chairman and CEO Tim Manganello (above center) during a ceremony Jan. 13 as part of the Automotive News World Congress in Detroit. Team owner Roger Penske also received a "Baby Borg." Castroneves will aim for his fourth Indianapolis 500 victory on May 30 at IMS.
Read More
Items 2,651 - 2,655 of 2,658
Reserve one of our hospitality suites for your next event!
To start planning your event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway please fill out our Information Request Form or contact IMS Sales Department at (317) 492-8739 or email at
Latest Tweets
It's Pole day on @CrownRoyal Armed Forces Weekend & we can't wait to see you! Check out details on the day:
May 21